Listening to the Audio was Amazing! The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa [Audiobook Review]

Posted May 8, 2020 by Zeee in Reviews0 Comments

, , , , ,

Listening to the Audio was Amazing! The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa [Audiobook Review]


I received an ebook for free in exchange for an honest review,
but opted to listen to the audiobook which I borrowed from the library.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Listening to the Audio was Amazing! The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa [Audiobook Review]The Worst Best Man written by Mia Sosa
Publisher HarperAudio
Publication Date: February 4, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Rom-Com
Format: Audiobook
Narrated by Rebecca Mozo, Wayne Mitchell
Length: 10 hours & 1 minute
ISBN: 0062988328
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Flame Rating: three-half-flames
Find on Goodreads


Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again...


Affiliate Links


Amazon B&N “libro.fm”



Worst Best Man Thoughts

I did not know what to expect when I started listening to The Worst Best Man. This is my first Mia Sosa book and this will definitely NOT be my last!

My initial reaction after finishing the audiobook was this emoji review that I posted on Goodreads: 🤪🤔🤐🚗🚪🌷🍛🥘🔥🤭😑😢😭😭😍🥰🥰🥰🥰🤣. As you can see, I was so full of emotions and it is quite obvious that I am in love with this book!

I received an eARC for this book, but I decided to wait until the audiobook was available. Luckily, it was available on Hooplah from the LA Public Library. I did not regret my choice! I will discuss the narrators later in this review.

The Worst Best Man started when Lina was jilted, and Max was the bringer of the bad news. Of course, there was drama and confusion and I really did not like Max at all! I am so glad that he totally redeemed himself!

What initially drew me to The Worst Best Man is the premise! I really love that it’s an enemies-to-lovers and fake relationship romance! The bulk of the story happens a few years after the jilting where Lina is vying to be an in-house wedding coordinator for a high-end hotel. The catch, she has to “audition” for the position and work with a marketing manager – Max!

I am so glad that I picked up the audiobook because I just realized that I do not hear a lot of Portuguese at all and I would not have known how to pronounce the words! Also, I realized that this book is chock full of representation, culture, and family is a huge focus, which I really love!

Let’s also talk about the food! I love all the mention of food here! Even that scene with Max and Lina involving a certain spicy dish!

The Worst Best Man is such a refreshing plot because it highlights how a woman’s character is always played as drama or overacting on something and is called crazy and irrational while a man’s temper tantrums are not viewed the same! I actually didn’t really think about that part.

This book is an awesome lighthearted read. There were awkward moments and there were also funny and laugh out loud moments that I really appreciate!

Works Best Man audiobook review

The narrators Rebecca Mozo and Wayne Mitchell were fantastic together! Of course, I loved that they picked the perfect narrators for the book, otherwise, I would not have enjoyed it at all.

The pacing and tone were perfect and what I prefer because I don’t like to speed up my audiobooks.

If you are a fan of audiobooks, I highly recommend listening to The Worst Best Man.

Rating Report
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Romance
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Rereadability
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Cover
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Narration
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: 5

 

 

Let's Discuss

I recently had a discussion with M @biologistreadsromance about food in books and I realized that I never really remember what dishes were mentioned!

So, let’s talk about food in romance! Do you remember if food is mentioned in books? Do you go look for the recipe or try them out?

 


About Mia Sosa

MIA SOSA was born and raised in New York City. She attended the University of Pennsylvania, where she earned her bachelor’s degree in Communications and met her own romance hero (spoiler alert: she married him). Mia once dreamed of being a professional singer, but practical considerations (read: the need to generate income) led her to take the law school admissions test instead.

A graduate of Yale Law School, Mia practiced First Amendment and media law in the nation’s capital for ten years before returning to her creative roots. Now she spends most of her days writing contemporary romances about smart women and the complicated men who love them. Mia lives in Maryland with her husband and two daughters and will forever be on the hunt for the perfect karaoke bar.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.