Uninvited by Sophie Jordan | Audiobook Review

Posted March 27, 2015 by Zeee in Reviews | 0 Comments

,

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan | Audiobook Review
Title: Uninvited
Written by Sophie Jordan
Read by Rebecca Gibel
Series: Uninvited #1
Published by HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 28th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Los Angeles Public Library
Find on Goodreads
Rating: One StarOne StarOne Star
Flame Rating: zero-flames

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

MY THOUGHTS

“Interesting enough”

Uninvited is the new YA Sci-Fi/Dystopian series by Sophie Jordan with similarities to the movie Minority Report with Tom Cruise.  Except with teens.  And hormones.  And spoiled brats?  Anway, I was interested in the premise – a futuristic society governed by a company that had coerced convinced the government that they are able to isolate the HTS (Homicidal Tendency Syndrome) gene, identify the individuals carrying that gene and stopping them even before they commit the actual act.  Interesting, right?  Well, I thought it was a little bit interesting at first but then it started to become a little bit irritating.  Well, Davy’s voice was irritating anyway.  And after the first 1/4 of the story, it started to become a little lame.  Before you read on, a fair warning to you my dear friends because there WILL be SPOILERS!

Our heroine, Davy (Divina), a spoiled little rich girl, who thinks her life is oh so perfect, with a perfect mom and dad, and the stereotypical bad-boy brother is tested and comes out positive for the HTS gene.  Unable to persuade the school to let this incident slide (apparently he did this with his older son already), Davy has no choice but to transfer from the elite private school where she reigns as queen to a public school for HTS carriers.  The usual teen drama occurs where Davy gets dumped by her hot and popular boyfriend, her BFF then steals said boyfriend from her and she is reported to the cops for punching the bejeezus of her boyfriend.  Everyone rallies against her despite being the darling of the school just because she has the HTS gene.

Oh, and did I mention that her love interest is also an HTS carrier, a HAWT HTS carrier?!  (/sarcasm) Well, this boy Sean, seems to be ultimate stereotypical bad boy with tats, an orphan yadda, yadda, yadda, who just happens to be sooooo super nice as to save Davy ALL the freaking time despite “hating” her at first sight.  Sigh.  I am so over bad boy stereotypes.

Ehniwaaaay…. Davy and the HTS gang gets sent to a concentration like camp/prison where they meet other HTS carriers who are being trained for battle and then Davy finally KILLS someone (whaaaat?!).  I thought it sort of felt like Divergent or something.  Or whatever.

I actually gave a rating of 3 hearts for this book because of the narrator.  I also started listening to the next book Unleashed a couple of days ago and I could not get past the first 3 chapters!  Davy is freaking annoying.  AHNOY-YING I tell, you.

The story was OK.  Nothing that I can highly recommend, though, unless you are fond of audiobooks.

THOUGHTS ON THE AUDIO

Narrator: Rebecca Gibel

I really enjoyed Rebecca’s narration and it made finishing this book possible.  I liked the tone and pacing of her narration and despite being annoyed by the main character Davy, I was able to push through because she (the narrator) did not make her (the heroine, Davy) sound SUPER annoying.  Props to Ms. Gibel on that!

REVIEW IN BISAYA

Sigh!  Wala na gyu’y laing topic kung dili dystopia na pud?  Mas maayo unta ug pareha ka thrilling sa Minority Report kay makalingaw pa.  Annoying and super full of drama ang heroine ug ang hero dili kaayo convincing sa iyang pagka bad boy kuno.  Okay ra man ang book.  Dili lang gyud sya thrilling kaayo.

Translation:  Sigh.  Is there no other topic but Dystopia?  If only the book was as thrilling as the movie Minority Report, it would have been more enjoyable.  The heroine is so annoying and so full of drama and the hero is not a convincing bad boy.  The book is ok but it is not as thrilling as I would have expected.


 Hi readers, if you found my review helpful, please vote for it on Amazon.  Thank you!

About Sophie Jordan

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she’s also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she’s not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2015 Goodreads Book Challenge
  • End of the World Challenge

0 responses to “Uninvited by Sophie Jordan | Audiobook Review

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge