Burn for Me & The Conspiracy of Us | DNF Reviews

Posted June 15, 2015 by Zeee in Reviews, Skinny Reviews | 0 Comments

 

DNFreviews1

because these are just not my cup of tea

heartdivider1

Burn for Me & The Conspiracy of Us | DNF Reviews
Title: Burn for Me
Written by Ilona Andrews
Read by Renee Raudman
Series: Hidden Legacy #1

Publication Date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Length: 12 hrs and 45 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Los Angeles Public Library
Find on Goodreads
Rating:  Stars


Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.


ihrya-purchase


Amazon Audible



MY THOUGHTS

I just can’t get into the story. It’s just super boring and 22% in nothing has happened at all! A whole lot of info dump is what’s happening and I am still confused as to what alternate universe the setting is! DNFing at 22%. Just NO!

This was my last post when I DNF’d Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews.  I had such high hopes for this book (and this series) because of the good reviews I read on GR.  But apparently, the story just didn’t work for me at all.  The story just didn’t capture me and with all the info dump that I got (I get that this is a first book so – background info but still) I was just bored out of my mind.  I listened to this as an audiobook and normally, I am pretty patient when it comes to audiobooks but I just couldn’t take it anymore.  This was narrated by Renee Raudman and I thought her voice was annoying as well.  This could be why I wasn’t able to finish this book.  Plus, I just couldn’t relate to the main character.

heartdivider1


Burn for Me & The Conspiracy of Us | DNF Reviews
Title: The Conspiracy of Us
Written by Maggie Hall
Read by Julia Whelan
Series: The Conspiracy of Us,
Published by Putnam Juvenile
Publication Date: January 13th 2015
Genres: Young Adult
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
Source: Los Angeles Public Library
Find on Goodreads
Rating:  Stars


A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter
Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.
To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.


ihrya-purchase


Amazon Audible



MY THOUGHTS

DNFd at 43% because…!  This book was pitched as the Da Vinci Code of YA and IT FAILED TO DELIVER.  Okay well, I didn’t finish the book but from what I read, there was just none of the Da Vinci Code in it (and YES, I have read Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code).  There were no thrills, no mystery really from what I have read.  And it smelled like a love triangle: View Spoiler »  And yes, both of them are super cute!  But wait, they are both VERY YOUNG and are already part of a secret organization with awesome fighting skills and whatnot.  Wut?  Maybe I haven’t been around teens lately but I thought that was a teeny bit far fetched.  Oh, and don’t forget the very secretive mother who moves around the country because of her job.  What I don’t understand is that why Avery did not question her mom’s work (I would really be suspicious after the umpteenth move after just a few months).  Maybe because my parents don’t work for a secret organization but I found it really hard to relate to Avery.  This was narrated by Julia Whelan and I didn’t care for her narration as well and it made Avery’s voice super annoying (her dialogue was already annoying to begin with).  Too bad, because I really liked the cover.

heartdivider1

Has anyone DNFd anything lately?  Share in the comments below!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2015 Goodreads Book Challenge

Tags: , | 0 Comments


0 responses to “Burn for Me & The Conspiracy of Us | DNF Reviews

  1. anne3230

    I'm a big fan of Andrew's Kate Daniels series, but I didn't love Burn For Me either, though I was able to finish the paper version. I would give it an ok rating (2 star Goodreads, 3 Amazon), but wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I do plan to read the next one though

    I have listened to some of the audio version of the KD series and am not fond of Raudman's narration and her unusual voice. I will say with the tons of characters and so many male, it is a tough job. It's really a series which needs a male and female narrator.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge